Images http://i1.adis.ws/i/pcec/noimagemedium?$PDP-Hero-Image-Desktop$
overview

42" Class Viera® G25 Series 1080p Plasma

Details
TC-P42G25
Features

42" Class Viera® G25 Series 1080p Plasma
(41.6" Diagonal)

  • VIERA Cast-WiFi w/ VideoPhone Capabilities
  • Infinite Black Panel
  • VIERA Image Viewer™
  • ENERGY STAR Qualified

SpecificationsExpand All

  • MORE DETAILS
    • Model Type
    • Series
    • Model Year
    • VIDEO
    • Screen Size
    • Contrast Ratio
    • Aspect Ratio
    • Native Resolution (Number of Pixels)
    • Moving Picture Resolution
    • Shades of Gradation
    • HDTV Display Capability (1080p, 1080i, 720p)
    • EDTV Display Capability (480p)
    • Aspect Control
    • Full HD 3D
    • AR (Anti-Reflective) Filter
    • 600Hz Sub-field Drive
    • 24p Cinematic Playback
    • 24p Playback(2:3)
    • Deep Color
    • x.v.Color
    • Studio Ref Mode
    • Pro Setting
    • THX Mode
    • ISFccc
    • 3D Color Management
    • Sub Pixel Control
    • Motion Pattern Noise Reduction
    • 600 Hz Sub-field Drive
    • AUDIO
    • Speakers
    • Number of Speakers
    • Audio Output
    • BBE® VIVA HD3D Sound
    • Surround Sound
    • INPUTS & JACKS
    • Integrated ATSC Tuner
    • VIERA Image Viewer™
    • HDMI Input
    • Composite Video Input
    • Audio Input (for Video)
    • PC Input
    • Component Video Inputs (Y, PB, PR)
    • Audio Input (for Component Video)
    • RS232C
    • Digital Audio Output
    • HDMI Input-Support Feature
    • Analog Audio Input ( for HDMI/DVI)
    • USB
    • LAN Port
    • CONVENIENCE
    • VIERA Link
    • VIERA Cast™ (IPTV)
    • Skype Ready
    • VIERA® Tools
    • Game Mode
    • 3D Active Shutter Eyewear
    • Clean Touch Bezel
    • Pixel Orbiter (Anti-Image Retention)
    • Built-In Closed Caption Decoder
    • Off - Timers
    • Trilingual Menu
    • GENERAL
    • Power Supply
    • Standby Power Consumption
    • Energy Star
    • Receiving System
    • Operating Temperature
    • Safety Standard
    • Swivel Angle
    • Optional Wall-mounting Bracket
    • SPECIFICATIONS
    • Dimensions (H x W x D) with Stand
    • Dimensions (H x W x D) without Stand
    • Weight (lbs.) w/Stand
    • Weight (lbs.) without Stand
    • Carton Dimensions
    • Gross Weight [lbs (kg)]
    • Weight
LOAD MORE

Reviews

TC-P42G25 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 9.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first Plasma TV and I could not be happier.I have been using it for about 1 yr. I also have a 50 inch, LCD but I keep coming back to watch movies and sports on this TV. This is the right size for the kitchen/family room. Awesome picture quality that you have to check for yourself. The blacks are truely deeper, picture quality clear and sharp. I notice a solid 2 inch strip down the side of my screen about 3 months after the purchase. Turned out that the panel had a cut wire. It was replaced and no problems. (reason for 4 on support) Extremely happy with purchase.
Date published: 2011-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2011-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from QUALITY!!!! Enough SAID! Solid, quality picture. Better than LCD and new LCD/LED in my honest opinion. I've had both and seen both but the blacks and dark colors look great in plasma, especially this model. I'm not into 3D picture so I didn't need the next model up. Stayed with 42" because that's what mounts perfectly to the brick of my fireplace. There are good calibration websites that will help you fine-tune the colors. Do a search on Google or check the AVS forum. I also have it plugged into my Network at home so I could update the Firmware. You can use the wireless dongle but I just use the onboard NIC.
Date published: 2011-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love THX mode This model has THX mode, which has a wonderful picture quality- very deep blacks yet still bright images and smooth contrast. The cheaper model in this line does not have THX, which I think is worth the difference in price. This is my first plasma, which is so much better than any LCD I have bought in the past. The only negative is the remote's mute button, which is very small. How could such an important feature be so poorly designed in this day and age. But the picture quality is what is the most important, and this plasma is wonderful. BTW, I've had no burn in problems.
Date published: 2011-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from run into a problem with the use of web camera Based on my detailed inquiry with customer support (case #27572687) I learned that the use of SKYPE requires the specific model of Panasonic web camera, which by my view is overpriced at least 5-fold as compared to other manufaturers. Importantly, even this camera is not available, yet. Based on this initial experience I would be advising caution about this product, because more undisclosed surprises could be associated with the model
Date published: 2010-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bang for the Buck Awesome picture quality in HD, Black levels are outstanding. Low light scenes in movies that get "pixilated" on my older LCD and rear projection TV are reproduced flawlessly on the Viera! Oh, BTW, I did the research and I knew the TV didn’t come with the wireless adapter, with all the other features and the quality of the TV being what it is, that is not much of a reason to be dissatisfied.
Date published: 2010-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TV! Excellent picture quality, especially on HD content. Deep blacks, rich color. Lots of features and love the fact that I can connect a USB stick with pics and music and play them through the TV. VieraCast is a great feature but hoping they will launch more widgets in the near future.
Date published: 2010-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great picture! The wifi must be bought seperate fr I love everything about this product except the limited internet sites available. I will be completetly satisfied when I can access Netflix. Also the manual does not specify the part to receive wifi is only available from Panasonic.
Date published: 2010-03-22
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_7
  • loc_en_US, sid_TC-P42G25, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_panasonic

Support

Firmware & Drivers FIRMWARE
    • Version:
    • Issues Addressed:
    • Release Date:
    • Operating Systems:
FAQs
  • What should I do if my TV will not turn on and the power indicator LED is not flashing?
    Follow these troubleshooting steps:
    • Make sure your TV's power cord is plugged into an electrical outlet.
    • Make sure the electrical outlet the TV is plugged into has power by testing known working device in that outlet.
    • After verifying the TV is plugged into a working outlet, try pressing the [POWER] button on the TV instead of the TV remote.
    If the outlet is working and the TV will not turn on after pressing the [POWER] button on the TV, please consider having the unit serviced. Click here for Panasonic Service Locator.
  • What should I do if the front Power indicator LED light is blinking?
    1. Unplug the TV's power cord.
    2. Unplug all cables.
    3. Power the TV using a different power outlet (do not use a power strip or surge protector).

    If the problem persists, please consider having the TV serviced. Click here for Panasonic Service Locator.

    Note: Count how many times the LED light blinks. This can help a technician troubleshoot the problem.
  • What should I do if I can access all of the TV apps except Netflix?
    1. Change the DNS setting of your TV to 8.8.8.8.
    2. If you are able to access the Netflix splash screen, use the TV remote to deactivate your account by pressing Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up, Up, Up, Up. After this process, try loggin back into the Netflix TV app.

    If the procedure is successful a screen will come up with the option to deactivate your device from your account. If not try the process again. Once you have successfully deactivated your device, you will need to activate it by opening Netflix and at the main screen selecting Member Sign In, then following the on screen prompts until activation is complete.

    If the Netflix app still fails to open, but all of the other TV apps work, visit help.netflix.com for more support.

  • What should I do if I have bars displaying on the TV screen?
    Change the format (aspect ratio) of the picture by pressing the [FORMAT] or [ASPECT] button on the TV's remote control. If you still have bars, check the aspect settings on your external video source, such as Cable/Satellite box, DVD/Blu-ray Disc player, etc. Note: Some content, such as film-based movies, are available in extra-wide format. Top and bottom bars are unavoidable.
LOAD MORE FAQs
Dimension Sheet
CONTACT INFORMATION
Consumer Product Support and Technical Assistance
Operating hours:
Mon-Fri 9am-6pm EST
Panasonic USA