Images http://i1.adis.ws/i/pcec/DMR-EZ28K_ALT01?$PDP-Hero-Image-Desktop$
overview

EZ28K DVD Recorder with Upconversion

Details
DMR-EZ28K
Features
  • Upconvert DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner
  • 1080p Up-Conversion
  • HDMI Simple Connection
  • VIERALink™ SD Memory Card Slot
  • USB Terminal and Super Multi-Format Recording & Playback

SpecificationsExpand All

  • MORE DETAILS
    • COMPATIBILITY:
    • Multi-Format Playback (Playable Disc Type)
    • DVD Playback Capability
    • DVD-RAM Video Playback Capability
    • DVD-RW, DVD-R Playback Capability
    • DVD-R (DL)Playback Capability
    • +R/ +R (DL), +RW Playback Capability
    • CD, CD-R/RW Playback Capability
    • RECORDABLE DISCS:
    • Recordable Disc Type
    • DVD-RAM
    • DVD-R
    • DVD-R (DL)
    • DVD-RW
    • +R
    • +R (DL)
    • +RW
    • Recording Format
    • AUDIO:
    • Dolby Digital® (Dolby AC-3) 2ch Audio Recording
    • INPUT/OUTPUT:
    • Analog Audio (2 Ch) Input:
    • Video In
    • DV Input Terminal
    • S-Video In
    • Built-in SD Card Slot
    • 2ch Audio Out
    • Component Video Out (Y, PB, PR)
    • S-Video Outputs
    • Digital Audio Out
    • Video Out
    • HDMI Output: 480i/p, 720p, 1080i/p
    • SD MEMORY CARD SLOT
    • Image File Compatible Media
    • Image File Format
    • SD Image File Format
    • Image File Number of Pixels
    • USB TERMINAL
    • USB (standard, format, playback, transfers)
    • JPEG
    • JPEG Items
    • MP3
    • MP3 Items
    • DivX® Items
    • OTHER:
    • Power Source
    • Power Consumption
    • Model Color
    • Recording Time 4.7GB (Approximate)
    • Recording Time 8.5GB DVD-R DL/+R DL Disc (Approximate)
    • TV Channel Analog/Digital
    • CATV Channel Analog/Digital
    • TV System
    • Recording System
    • VHS Playable Format
    • VHS Operations
    • VHS Rec. Mode
    • VHS Copying Way
    • Operating Temperature
    • Operating Humidity Range
    • Dimensions (H x W x D)
    • Weight
    • UPC
LOAD MORE

Reviews

DMR-EZ28K is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Playback Had this for about a year, gorgeous playback, reliable recording, lots of nice functions. Very happy with this unit, was just searching to see if they still made this, because I was thinking of buying another. There are some minor bugs, can't get the usb to work, tried several thumb drives, not important to me. About every week or two it locks up and I have to turn the power off at the plug and re-boot. There is a bit of a learning curve, but that is to be expected in such a piece of equipment.
Date published: 2010-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but Disappointing I purchased this unit to replace a DMR-ES15. Although the DMR-EZ28K has great video, the editing features have taken a big step backwards (e.g. the phrase list that was such a great timesaver on the ES15 is missing from the EZ28, meaning you have to do editing from scratch each time you record a new DVD) It's annoying enough that I'm going to try to get my old unit fixed or buy another ES15. Note to Panasonic: Are you planning a firmware upgrade to the EZ28? I've noticed other folks were also disappointed.
Date published: 2010-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Bad But Needs Improvement This isn't too bad a dvd recorder and I actually have three of the same model. One works just fine and has only had to be reset once. The other two had various issues like one with the door that wouldn't open and before that needing to reset the machine fairly often. The other machine that I bought used and I think was damaged during a storm wouldn't recognize the tuner on the unit and you couldn't see anything on it at all. I thought I might buy some parts from Panasonic to repair the units but was hit with too high a price tag for just a little board. So if it goes bad unless you really love the unit it is better to throw it away than keep it too bad too as they were nice units,hopefully the part price will go down. As for other issues I too have had problems with the disks becoming unusable after a while but have also found that these disks are very easy to scratch so it may not be entirely the fault of the unit. Ever since I have had the disks and noticed how easy the were to scratch I have been very careful with them. I also wish that there were an eject button as my Panasonic DVD player does but really need the exercise anyway so that really isn't a big issue. The channels being slow to go from one channel to the next though is very annoying especially when you are in a hurry trying to do a last minute recording. Also it could come on a bit faster and as someone has already pointed out it is slow to start up and again an issue when you only have limited time. Even with the little annoyances though I still like this unit and would buy it again as I like how it records.
Date published: 2010-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury's still out I've had an ES30V since 2005 and it's performed flawlessly. Setup on this new unit was simple as the basic steps were the same. HOWEVER -- the EZ28K won't recognize all my digital channels I can see on my TV, even though I've scanned several times. No idea why. The lockups are frequent -- so much so that I often record the same show on both units as insurance. The HD recording on DVD-RAM is great, though. Picture and sound are both done well. I just can't give this unit high marks due to the frequent lockups. If you're patient with reading the manual it will serve fairly well as a everyday recorder but the software needs an upgrade.
Date published: 2010-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable, Great Up-Scaled Playback Power up is a little slow and the menus are not the easiest to navigate, but once you've learned your way around the player it is GREAT. It is reliable. Recording and playback quality are fantanstic. I've compared upscaled dvd playback to cable HD programming on my 1080p television and there is no discerable difference between the two.
Date published: 2010-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor editing capabilities I had an old unit that died so I purchased this one to replace the old unit. However, this unit does not really offer any kind of editing capabilities. This is the number one feature we want to have for this kind of recorder so people can record then edit the recording such as shortern the segment, get rid off the commercials, etc. Sometime, the unit will freeze for no reason and I have to reset the unit. When fast forward or rewind the programming, it does not show the time on the display. Panasonic was one my favor brand and please put back these features on the new unit through some kind of software or firmware update.
Date published: 2010-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor recording capabilities I purchased this unit as a replacement for a Panasonic DVD recorder I simply wore out.I enjoyed editing & recording TV shows & movies.This machine is definitely inferior to the old one.It is slower in its responce,it doesn't allow you to edit a recording.(On the navigator-sub menu it says "edit recording but when you go there it will only allow you to edit the title. You can DIVIDE the recording,but you can't edit it.Misleading info.On the Edit Name function,it just gives you ability to print across one long line of 42 characters.The previous units allowed you to see how it would look in the final rectagular box.(Or Panasonic would send you software to update for this.)You can't do it with this unit.And finally,it has a tendency to freeze up when you're entering data.You must disconnect the unit from the power source and wait about 30 seconds to reboot & start over.
Date published: 2010-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs an up-grade This product works well when it works. The issue I have with this unit is why have a Digital Tuner that can receive HD channels when avaliable, but you have to deal with the old Analog inputs and if you bypass the analog inputs and go RF-in to HDMI-out, the Digital Tuner only can capture some HD broadcast. I understand now that's not the fault of Panasonic. I do have a suggestion, provide a HDMI-in for recording, sence most cable boxes have HDMI-out, and the upconverting to 1080p works best for pre-recorded DVDs and if you record in HD contect .
Date published: 2010-03-19
  • y_2017, m_4, d_30, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_DMR-EZ28K, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_panasonic

Accessories

SEE ALL ACCESSORIES

Support

Firmware & Drivers FIRMWARE
    • Version:
    • Issues Addressed:
    • Release Date:
    • Operating Systems:
Owner's Manuals
How To Guided Tutorials
FAQs
  • Why can't a rented disc play in my player?
    If you're having difficulty playing a disc that you have rented or borrowed, try a disc that you own to see if it plays. If it does play then there could be a problem with the borrowed or rented disc. Try cleaning the disc with a soft cloth to remove any fingerprints or smudges.
  • Is there a remote control code available that will enable me to use another manufacturer's remote to operate this device?
    You will have to contact the remote's manufacturer for the codes needed.
  • What do I do in the unit has no power?
    If the unit is not powering on, remove the power cord plug from any power strip it may be connected to and plug directly into the wall outlet.
  • Can I playback a DVD from another region other than Region "1", "0", or "play in all regions"?
    No, this device is unable to playback a DVD from other regions.
LOAD MORE FAQs
CONTACT INFORMATION
Consumer Product Support and Technical Assistance
Operating hours:
Mon-Fri 9am-6pm EST
Panasonic USA