Images http://i1.adis.ws/i/pcec/DMC-ZS10R_ALT01?$PDP-Hero-Image-Desktop$
Variations
overview

LUMIX® ZS10 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera

Details
DMC-ZS10
Features
  • 16x Optical Zoom LEICA DC Lens with 24mm Ultra Wide Angle: Precision quality optics--extremely bright with a powerful, versatile range
  • Full HD Movie Recording: Create beautifully detailed, crisp and vivid movies with 1080 i resolution
  • GPS Function Tags your photos and videos with place name and cooridinate details for tracking and recalling location of images
Variations

Features

Introduction

The Panasonic LUMIX DMC-ZS10 is a strong addition to the LUMIX ZS Series of cameras, which have won praise for their versatile, powerful lenses that offer a wide range of shooting options. 

The LUMIX ZS10 continues this tradition with a 24mm ultra wide-angle Leica DC VARIO-ELMAR lens with impressive 16x optical zoom and full HD 1920 x 1080 video recording capability.  The ZS10 features a newly incorporated 3.0-inch Smart Touch Intelligent LCD screen with 460,000-dot resolution and intuitive touch controls that let you shoot, zoom, focus and more without ever taking your eyes off the frame.  There’s even a built-in GPS system that lets you geo-tag images and easily share them with friends and family.

Technology

24mm Ultra Wide-angle 16x Optical Zoom Leica DC Lens: 
The ZS10 has been redesigned to incorporate a 24mm ultra wide-angle Leica DC lens and, for the first time ever on a LUMIX, Panasonic’s black box technology to deliver exceptional performance with clarity that holds up to Leica’s rigid standards.

The 24mm ultra wide-angle lens is not commonly seen on compact cameras like the ZS10, and its inclusion allows for a wider range of shooting possibilities and approximately 213% more viewing space than would a traditional 35mm camera.

With a powerful 16x optical zoom lens, the ZS10 produces highly natural expression of human and animal subjects from a distance.  The zoom can also be used in video recording and effectively suppresses noise while zooming.  Thanks to Panasonic’s Intelligent Resolution technology, zoom can be extended even further to 21x, and when the Extra Optical Zoom is engaged zoom power goes to an impressive 33.8x.

Despite so much muscle in the lens, the ZS10 maintains a slim, compact profile that’s easily portable for travel and everyday shooting.

3.0-inch LCD with 460,000 High-resolution LCD: 
The generous 3.0-inch LCD has 460,000-dot resolution and automatically adjusts brightness in 11 levels for optimal display in any shooting condition.  The screen is covered with the exclusive anti-reflective coating that cuts glare and provides crisp, clear images for the highest possible visibility, even in bright outdoor light.  The responsive display is further enhanced by Panasonic’s touch control technology.

Nano Surface Coating: 
The new Nano Surface Coating significantly reduces reflectance compared with more conventional multi-coating processes used to suppress ghosting.  This special coating makes the ZS10 lens more resistant to glare and helps produce images that possess stunning optical quality and are incredibly clear.

14.1-megapixel MOS Sensor: 
The 14.1-megapixel MOS sensor is newly integrated into the ZS10, promoting higher speed signal output and higher sensitivity when recording images.  The redesigned MOS enables many of the ZS10’s advanced features including the camera’s full HD 60i (NTSC) live video capture.  The image processing sensor incorporates micro fabrication technology, which prevents color mixing and loss of signal for photos and movies with superior clarity at any sensitivity.  The semiconductor production process has also been revamped to allow for dramatic noise suppression.

Sonic Speed AF: 
Capturing moving subjects has never been easier thanks to the ZS10’s Sonic Speed Auto Focus system, which includes several re-engineered improvements such as a higher speed actuator, optimized algorithms and simultaneous software processing.  The ZS10 delivers fast, accurate AF performance and focusing that is about 49% faster than its predecessor.  Shooting moving subjects such as athletes, dancers or active children is fast, simple and responsive, providing optimal results every time.

Functionality

Intelligent Auto (iA) Mode: 
Panasonic’s innovative Intelligent Auto (iA) Mode is the popular automated function that lets the camera do all the work: you just point and shoot.  Several detection and correction features are engaged, optimizing everything from focus and exposure to motion blur and shot resolution.  You get maximum picture quality with minimum effort, so even if you’ve never used a digital point-and-shoot before, your images will always turn out beautifully.

POWER O.I.S.: 
You see a great photo opportunity and you take it.  You quickly switch to playback mode to review this awesome picture you’ve just captured, only to find a shot that’s blurry and impossible to make out.  We’ve all been there.  When the shutter is pressed, the movement of your hand can cause vibrations in the camera that make your photos blurred; insufficient lighting can also sometimes lead to blurring.  The ZS10 is equipped with POWER Optical Image Stabilizer (O.I.S.), which combats the vibrations caused by hand-shake or nighttime shooting at slow shutter speeds.  You get almost twice the image stabilization power of conventional MEGA O.I.S. so your photos are always crisp and clear, even in dim lighting conditions.

Motion Deblur Mode: 
Motion Deblur gives you even more power to control the effects of hand-shake and low shutter speed, especially when shooting subjects in motion.  You’ll never lose another precious moment or beautiful portrait to blurring thanks to this feature’s seamless integration with Intelligent ISO Control and Intelligent Exposure.  ISO settings and shutter speed are automatically adjusted according to lighting conditions and subject movement, and exposure is optimized so that images never appear washed out or too dark.  Motion blur is suppressed and high sensitivity image recording is activated to improve photo quality in virtually any situation.  With so many functions engaged at once, there’s no need to worry about making adjustments to complex manual controls unless you wish to do so.

Intelligent ISO: 
Shooting moving subjects effectively can be nearly impossible, but with the ZS10’s Intelligent ISO Control function motion is detected and automatically compensated for.  ISO settings and shutter speed are modified to best fit the movement and lighting conditions.  These are raised when motion is detected or lowered when subjects are still.  You now have the freedom to take incredible action shots at sporting events, parades, live performances or just playing around with your friends and family during a party or a night out.  Photos always look natural and clear, free from the annoying blur or uneven exposure that can ruin a picture.

Intelligent Exposure: 
With Intelligent Exposure, the ZS10 is able to instantly analyze the image in the frame and adjust brightness to maximize proper exposure.  Dim lighting, backlighting or use of the flash won’t have a negative impact on your images, and photos are reproduced with lifelike color and brightness; no professional lighting experience is required.

Face Detection with Face Recognition: 
If you love taking portraits, you’ll love Face Detection with Face Recognition on the ZS10.  Conventional face detection systems can capture faces with decent focus and brightness, but they don’t always process faces effectively in a crowded frame.  Panasonic’s Face Detection can identify up to 15 faces in a single shot, so even large group pictures are optimized for the most natural results.  Face Recognition lets you register the faces of your favorite subjects; anytime you shoot these registered faces the ZS10 not only prioritizes settings for impressive results, but also displays the person’s name and information, making photo organization a snap.  There’s even a built-in red-eye correction function that fixes the problem immediately, ensuring attractive facial expression in any subject.

Intelligent Scene Selector: 
When the ZS10 is set to iA Mode, the Intelligent Scene Selector intuitively sets the proper scene mode using various detection functions like ambient lighting and focus distance.  You don’t have to worry about changing camera settings as you move through a day of shooting or as light conditions or your location changes.  This makes the ZS10 ideal for travel or major events like weddings or graduations, and where you are likely to shoot in many different environments or over the course of an entire day when lighting conditions will change frequently.  Intelligent Scene Selector chooses the best possible setting: Scenery, Night Scenery, Portrait, Night Portrait, Sunset and Macro so you always get perfect results no matter where you are.

Touch Control: 
The LUMIX ZS10 boasts an intuitive touch screen control that lets you manipulate a host of automated and manual settings quickly and easily.  You can switch between functions, make manual corrections to images, and engage playback and more, with just a light tap on the responsive LCD screen.

Touch Control Shooting: 
Set up a fantastic shot and capture it effortlessly with touch control shooting.  Simply touch the image of your desired subject on the screen to engage auto focus and shoot.  There’s not an easier way to take well-composed, beautifully detailed images on the spur of the moment.

Touch Control Auto Focus: 
Engage auto focus in seconds just by touching the subject on the ZS10’s LCD display.  Touch control AF makes it easy to single out a subject in a crowded frame, perfect for travel photos or shots of a specific person within a larger group.

Touch Control AF Tracking: 
Shoot moving subjects without the hassle of readjusting focus constantly with touch control auto focus tracking.  Touch the screen to activate it, and the ZS10 will lock on your subject and maintain optimum focus until you’re ready to take the picture.

3D Photo Mode: 
Create breathtaking 3D images with the ZS10’s new 3D Photo Mode.  The camera uses LUMIX’s innovative 3D recording capabilities to record beautiful left and right side images that are free from distortion or visible image links.  You can take a variety of shots and the camera will choose the two best to combine into a 3D composite image.  You can then playback your three-dimensional pictures on any Panasonic VIERA 3D-ready HDTV or MPO-compatible device; you can even print 3D pictures.

Easy Manual Operation: 
If you prefer the control of manual settings, the ZS10 gives you the flexibility to adjust aperture and shutter speed to enhance the artistic appeal of any photo.  Even novice photographers can experiment with manual controls thanks to the ZS10’s helpful, easy to read adjustment guides.  Manual Exposure, Aperture Priority and Shutter Priority are all included in the Easy Manual Operation function.

Manual Exposure: 
Manual Exposure lets you adjust brightness levels in any image.  The Manual Exposure Assist function shows you how your chosen setting differs from what the camera considers optimal.  This can help with your experiments with manual settings without fear of completely ruining your images.

Aperture Priority: 
This feature allows selection of the lens aperture as thought appropriate for the shot.  Aperture Priority makes it possible to adjust the camera to record maximum depth of field in an image.  This can be particularly useful when shooting landscapes.  For example you might want an object that is close to the camera and some distant hills to both be in focus.

Shutter Priority: 
Adjust the shutter speed from 60 to 1/4000th of a second, delivering interesting effects that can generate a controlled motion blur to exaggerate subject movement, or a freeze effect to capture precise moments in an action shot.

1920 x 1080 60i (NTSC) Full HD Video: 
You can forget about carrying around a separate digital camera and camcorder thanks to the ZS10’s powerful 1920 x 1080 HD movie recording capability.  You will be able to record impressive live action video in AVCHD format, which delivers almost twice the recording time of traditional Motion.  You also get Intelligent Resolution technology with video recording so your images benefit from pixel-by-pixel signal processing for natural clarity and detail in both still photos and movies.

Built-in GPS (Global Positioning System): 
The LUMIX DMC-ZS10 loves to travel as much as you do.  The integrated GPS function records various bits of data about your shooting location including the date of the shot, local time and the pinpoint map location.  You can review images with specific GPS tags using the bundled PHOTOfunSTUDIO 6.1 HD Lite Edition software, or sort photos based on GPS information for quick and easy organization of all your favorite vacation memories.

Summary

The Panasonic LUMIX DMC-ZS10 is much more than a compact entry-level point-and-shoot.  While you certainly get all the basic features and usability functions that make taking great photos a breeze, you also get the advanced technology and superior image quality that the LUMIX line is known for.  Whether you’re looking to start out in digital photography, want to upgrade your current compact point-and-shoot or just want a stylish, portable camera for everyday photos and high quality video, the LUMIX DMC-ZS10 is an excellent choice.  With an attractive price tag and your choice of six different designer body colors: black, silver, champagne gold, blue, red and chocolate brown, what’s not to love?

SpecificationsExpand All

  • MORE DETAILS
    • Camera Effective Pixels
    • Sensor Size / Total Pixels / Filter
    • Aperture
    • Optical Zoom
    • Focal Length
    • Extra Optical Zoom (EZ)
    • Intelligent Zoom
    • Lens
    • 2-Speed Zoom
    • Optical Image Stabilizer
    • Digital Zoom
    • Focusing Area
    • Focus Range Display
    • AF Metering
    • Shutter Speed
    • Focus
    • AF Assist Lamp
    • ISO Sensitivity
    • White Balance
    • Exposure
    • Exposure Compensation
    • Backlight Compensation
    • Auto Bracketing ( AE)
    • Light Metering
    • Face Detection
    • Still Image Scene Mode
    • Additional Still Image Scene Modes
    • Movie Scene Mode
    • Shutter Interval
    • Self Timer
    • Auto Review
    • Image Quality
    • Motion Picture Recording 4:3
    • Motion Picture Recording HD Movie
    • Aspect Ratio
    • Intelligent Exposure
    • Real-time Histograms
    • Composition Guide Lines
    • Scene Mode Help Screen
    • LCD Monitor
    • Playback Mode
    • OSD Language
    • Recording Media
    • Interface
    • Viera Link
    • Power
    • Battery Life
    • Built-in-Flash
    • Included Software
    • Standard Accessories
    • Quick Menu
    • Continuous Shooting Mode
    • Focus Icon Select
    • Optical Zoom in Motion Picture
    • Macro Zoom
    • Orientation Detector
    • Slideshow Mode
    • Show Histogram
    • Delete Image
    • Cut Animation
    • PictBridge Support
    • AVCHD / AVCHD Lite REC
    • One-Touch Movie Button
    • Movie REC Guide
    • Wind-Cut in Motion Picture
    • Intelligent ISO Control
    • Face Recognition
    • Intelligent Scene Selector
    • File Format
    • Mode Dial / Mode Button
    • Still Picture Recording 4:3
    • Still Picture Recording 3:2
    • Still Picture Recording 16:9
    • Still Picture Recording 1:1
    • Color Mode / Color Effect
    • Copy / Title Edit / Text Stamp
    • Weight(lbs)
    • Digital Red Eye Correction (Red-Eye Removal)
    • Mode Switch
    • Easy Zoom / Zoom Resume
    • Thumbnails / Zoomed Playback
    • Calendar Display / Dual-Image Playback
    • Set Favorites / Rotate Image
    • DPOF Print Setting / Set Protection
    • Travel Date / World Time
    • Built-in-Memory
    • Microphone / Speaker
    • Touch Panel
    • AF Tracking
    • Intelligent Resolution Technology
    • Video Divide
    • GPS
    • Motion Deblur mode
    • HDMI output
    • Optical Image Stabilizer
    • Playback Motion Picture
    • LUMIX Image Uploader
    • Recommended Humidity
    • Resize / Cropping / Aspect Conv. / Leveling
    • Dimensions (W x H x D)
    • AVCHD with picture quality
    • MOTION JPEG with picture quality
    • UPC
LOAD MORE

Reviews

DMC-ZS10 is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable camera I am on my third generation of Lumix cameras. I keep upgrading for more zoom. Now I want a wi-fi camera and it's going to be another Lumix.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Watch for thse dark spots In 2011 I purchased my first ZS10. After loving my TZ2 and TZ5 n several international trips I expected great things. Boy was I disappointed! While the ZS10 is packed with great sounding features, in practice it seldom delivered. Some are just inconvenience, but the camera seems to invite dust or small debris inside the lens and sensor causing grey spots to appear on all photos. Most obvious against the sky or in water scenes these spots often ruin the photos and are hard to fix in photo shop. When it starts a week into a trip to Italy it is VERY FRUSTRATING. Fortunately Costco replaced the first camera under warrenty so I got a brand newZS10. But alas, this year it happened again in Myanmar (Burma) with a few spots quickly becoming many, despite always carrying the camera in it's case or protected in a pocket. Lots of ruined photos. Now I admit to being a heavy user shooting sometimes 1500 pics a week on vacation, but then again, no problem with the older cameras. Hmmm? Maybe a manufacturing issue? Panasonic has been helpful in advising me how to send the camera in for cleaning. Other Cons: 1. Finger grip on front of camera made too smooth so it allows slipping. TZ 5 was much better for people with large hands. 2.. GIS feature ok but sucks life from the batteries. 3. Battery different from older cameras required purchase of new backups. Now I have to carry two different chargers. 4. Touchscreen shutter on/off button too close to lower right hand corner allowing for accidental activation and pictures of feet, street, bottom of boat, etc. Should be a way to just turn the touch screen function off completely. Pros: Still numerous. Great wide angle lens and zoom telephoto. Reasonably quick shutter with little delay. Controls are relatively simple. For a pocket sized camera the photo opportunities are excellent. It is small so I can carry my old TZ5 as a backup and still not weigh down my daypack. It has been just about the perfect small travel camera - till the "dust bunnies" arrived. On my advice several friends have purchased various Lumix versions. Don't know if I can recommend the ZS10, but maybe the newer versions have improved the dust seals.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Poor Support I purchased this camera and was happy at first. Then all of a sudden a black spot appeared in the corner of all my pictures. I learned to live with that. Some time later everytime I turn the camera on, the lens would extend all the way out and back in a few times and then display an error message about the focus. I went online to look for help, and there was ZERO. No firware to address anyones issues and no help whatsoever. All I saw in the help section was everyone basically being rediredted to purchase technical support. This was my second Lumix camera, however it will be the last.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gr8 movement pics!!! I take a lot of pictures of dogs and puppies. They obviously move quite a bit and I have been thru numerous point and shoot cameras and even the Nikon1 and this is my favorite camera!! The other cameras took very blurry pictures when ever the pups would move, I lost out on so many great puppy pictures. But the color quality was excellent and none of the pictures were blurry at all. This is my favorite camera and I love it the zoom is great and even when you are zoomed in close and the pups move my pics aren't blurry!! I would say the only con is the camera is real heavy.. The specs say just over 7lbs. so it isn't as heavy as a bag of dog food...but to me it is a pretty heavy point and shoot. Where the weight is just kind of makes the camera off balance and easy to drop, so I suggest hanging on to the camera strap!!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor colours I had high expectations to this camera but now I wish I never bought it. Reason: All images comes out with a very strong blue coloured tint to them. Red coloured is missing desperately. The finished image looks nothing like "the real thing". the camera does not have an option that will correct this problem. I can go to a photo editing program and correct most of this, but this is not something I would want to do with every photo I take from now on.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Low Light Video Unlike the ZS7, the low light video is very poor. In daylight the video is very good but in any sort of low light situation, the video is completely dark and useless. The vdeo quality was the main reason that folks loved the ZS7 but the ZS10 is a major let down.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Camera Ever I got the camera has a gift and I am so pleased with the camera. The features like the scene mode are my favorite among all the features. I can now pick and choose the subject that I am taking pictures of and I will get the best quality picture of them. I love the GPS feature as well. Overall this is just the best Lumix camera I have and I have 4 other Lumix cameras. I can safely say they are my all time favorite. Thanks Panasonic for giving me the best pictures to show off
Date published: 2012-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Camera for the Novice User I'm a complete novice but have found this camera easy to use. I've had plenty of inexpensive digital cameras in the past that have found the trashcan. The 16x optical zoom on this camera is awesome. I've played around with the low light - nightime picture cababilities have have been very pleased, as long as you use it with a tripod. In decent to good light, the 1080p HD video is awesome too. While I needed to poke around a bit to find the video files, they were easily coverted so that I could burn to DVD. I took approximately an hours worth of Video on a recent CO trip (16g class 10 card), burned to DVD and looks great on my 55" TV. The lens did fog up one day but I'll cut some slack as it was -4 degrees F.
Date published: 2011-12-28
  • y_2016, m_12, d_6, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_DMC-ZS10, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_panasonic

Support

Firmware & Drivers FIRMWARE
FAQs
  • What support content is available for my product?

    Click on a link below that interests you the most:

    • Panasonic Community - Join our Community and participate in Discussions where you can learn more about our Products. You will also be able to get advice from other members and Product Experts, as well as documents, FAQ’s, tutorials, and updates.

    • Live Chat - Chat with a representative from 9am-9pm Monday-Friday and 10am-7pm Saturday/Sunday EST.

    • Email Contact - For email inquiries, send them to panasonicwebcasesf@us.panasonic.com, you will receive a response within 24-48 hours.

    • Parts/Accessories - Order parts and/or accessories from our supply chain, Encompass.

    • Service Locator - Locate the closest Authorized repair center to you for TVs, Microwaves, Vacuums, or Massage Chairs.

    • Service Request - If you need a product repaired and is NOT a TV, Microwave, Vacuum, or Massage Chair, you can use our Online Repair Request. There, you will be able to get a repair estimate, pay online, and track the repair status.
  • I am a professional photographer who is seriously considering switching to the Lumix mirrorless cameras. Does Panasonic have, or can you suggest, a web site that demonstrates how professional photographers are successfully using the Lumix professional cameras?
    In conjunction with our Panasonic.com web site, our Sales and Marketing team also runs LUMIXLOUNGE.COM This site features work from Panasonic’s Luminary team of professional photographers who have migrated to the Lumx mirrorless cameras. The site also features schedules to live on-line and dealer events as well as convenient links to our latest firmware updates. Additional features to expand the site are already in progress.

    Have more questions concerning your Panasonic camera?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • How do I install firmware in my camera using an SD card?
    Digital Still Camera Firmware Update Guide.

    1) Preparation before attempting the update.

    A. Make sure the camera's battery is completely charged. If the battery is not completely charged the firmware update will not begin. Format the SD memory card in the camera, then take a couple of pictures.
    B. Turn off the camera.

    2) Copying the Firmware to your memory card.
    A. Download the latest firmware update for your model by clicking on the "Download Ver. X.X " link to a location on your computer (we recommend the "Desktop").
    B. If your computer has a media reader, please insert your formatted SD Card from your camera.
    C. Open the zipped firmware file that you downloaded to the desktop.

    D. For"PC" users, locate your SD Card by clicking on, or opening the"My Computer" or"Computer" on your desktop or your"Start" menu. For"Mac" users, can use"Finder" if the drive does not mount to your desktop.

    E."Drag" to Copy and Paste" the .bin file from the opened folder to the drive with the SD Card showing in your"My Computer" window for"PC" users and"Finder" or"Drive" in Macs. This will copy the file to the card.

    F. If you choose to leave the SD Card in your camera, connect the camera to the PC with the USB cable. Turn the camera on and set it to"Playback" mode. Then select"PC" on the LCD screen. Drag the .bin file from the opened folder to the device that either says Panasonic or mass storage to complete the transfer.

    G."SDXC cards, 32GB or larger, require special card readers. Depending on your PC, and the age of its operating system, you may not be able to directly write to such large cards. If your PC asks you to format the card, DO NOT, this is one indication that your system is not compatible with the newer larger memory cards. In this case a smaller card, 16GB or smaller should be used.

    3) Updating the camera's firmware.

    A. Turn the Camera off, insert the SD Card if you copied the firmware to the card while inserted into the computer.

    B. Turn the Camera power on and press the"Playback" button. The camera's LCD screen should now be showing a screen asking if you desire to"Update" the firmware. Highlight"Yes" and press the"Menu/Set" button.

    C. When the Camera has completed the firmware update it will turn itself off and then back on.

    D. This completes the update process.

    4) Confirming the update.

    A. Turn the camera's power back on.

    B. Set to"Playback" Mode.

    C. Choose the"Setup" menu.

    D. Select Version Disp.
    Digital Still Camera Firmware Update Guide.

    1) Preparation before attempting the update.

    A. Make sure the camera's battery is completely charged. If the battery is not completely charged the firmware update will not begin. Format the SD memory card in the camera, then take a couple of pictures.
    B. Turn off the camera.

    2) Copying the Firmware to your memory card.
    A. Download the latest firmware update for your model by clicking on the "Download Ver. X.X " link to a location on your computer (we recommend the "Desktop").
    B. If your computer has a media reader, please insert your formatted SD Card from your camera.
    C. Open the zipped firmware file that you downloaded to the desktop.

    D. For"PC" users, locate your SD Card by clicking on, or opening the"My Computer" or"Computer" on your desktop or your"Start" menu. For"Mac" users, can use"Finder" if the drive does not mount to your desktop.

    E."Drag" to Copy and Paste" the .bin file from the opened folder to the drive with the SD Card showing in your"My Computer" window for"PC" users and"Finder" or"Drive" in Macs. This will copy the file to the card.

    F. If you choose to leave the SD Card in your camera, connect the camera to the PC with the USB cable. Turn the camera on and set it to"Playback" mode. Then select"PC" on the LCD screen. Drag the .bin file from the opened folder to the device that either says Panasonic or mass storage to complete the transfer.

    G."SDXC cards, 32GB or larger, require special card readers. Depending on your PC, and the age of its operating system, you may not be able to directly write to such large cards. If your PC asks you to format the card, DO NOT, this is one indication that your system is not compatible with the newer larger memory cards. In this case a smaller card, 16GB or smaller should be used.

    3) Updating the camera's firmware.

    A. Turn the Camera off, insert the SD Card if you copied the firmware to the card while inserted into the computer.

    B. Turn the Camera power on and press the"Playback" button. The camera's LCD screen should now be showing a screen asking if you desire to"Update" the firmware. Highlight"Yes" and press the"Menu/Set" button.

    C. When the Camera has completed the firmware update it will turn itself off and then back on.

    D. This completes the update process.

    4) Confirming the update.

    A. Turn the camera's power back on.

    B. Set to"Playback" Mode.

    C. Choose the"Setup" menu.

    D. Select Version Disp.


    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • For some reason I am not able to transfer the MPO files (3D format) from my camera to my pc using the supplied PhotofunStudio software. My JPEG and RAW images transfer without issue.
    To resize your photos, perform the following steps.
    1. Open "PHOTOfunSTUDIO" program.
    2. After program opens click on the "Edit" icon at the top.
    3. Select "Resize" in the drop down menu.
    4. Click on select all. That will place a check mark in all boxes.
    5. Click on the "Next" button.
    6. Use the "Up/Down" arrows to the left in the to "Expansion/Reduction ratio" section to adjust how much you want to enlarge or reduce the picture(s).
    7. Click on the "Execute" button to continue.
    8. Click on the "Yes" button to begin the resize.
    9. Please wait for the process to complete.
    10. Click the "OK" button to continue.

    Click here for Help & Tutorials



    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • Why am I unable to view the photos on my camera after I have deleted some files from the SD card using the computer?
    It is not recommended that you delete or modify any photos on your SD memory card using your PC if you plan to move them back to the camera. Doing so can damage the file allocation table and your camera will not be able to read the files. You should immediately copy the remaining photos from your SD card to your PC. After doing so, using your camera, reformat the SD card.

    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • My camera's lens won't extend or retract. What do I do?
    We recommend you try removing the battery from the unit for approximately 60 seconds and reinstall the battery. If your lens still will not open or close, we suggest you consider having your camera serviced.

    For repairs and exchanges:

    Ship your product to:

    Panasonic Factory Service Center
    4900 George McVay Drive
    Suite B; Door-12
    McAllen, TX 78503

    Please include your name, address, telephone number, email address, copy of your purchase receipt (for warranty service), and a description of what is wrong with the unit. Freight collect shipments will not be accepted.

    Panasonic is not responsible for damage that occurs in transit. All contents should be packaged for safe travel to the service center. Customer should use a reputable small package shipping company that is able to provide a package tracking number and insurance (if customer should so desire to insure their package).

    Units that are abused, damaged, infested with insects, have corrosion, etc. will be placed out-of-warranty.

    Once your unit arrives at the facility, you may contact us for status at:

    Email: panacare@us.panasonic.com

    Note: Please reference your Service Job number when contacting. You will be contacted if there is any cost you are responsible for.

    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • My lens cover won't open or close. What do I do?
    We recommend you try removing the battery from the unit for approximately 60 seconds and reinstall the battery. If you still find the lens cover will not open or close, you will want to consider having the camera serviced.

    For repairs and exchanges:

    Ship your product to:

    Panasonic Factory Service Center
    4900 George McVay Drive
    Suite B; Door-12
    McAllen, TX 78503

    Please include your name, address, telephone number, email address, copy of your purchase receipt (for warranty service), and a description of what is wrong with the unit. Freight collect shipments will not be accepted.

    Panasonic is not responsible for damage that occurs in transit. All contents should be packaged for safe travel to the service center. Customer should use a reputable small package shipping company that is able to provide a package tracking number and insurance (if customer should so desire to insure their package).

    Units that are abused, damaged, infested with insects, have corrosion, etc. will be placed out-of-warranty.

    Once your unit arrives at the facility, you may contact us for status at:

    Email: panacare@us.panasonic.com

    Note: Please reference your Service Job number when contacting. You will be contacted if there is any cost you are responsible for.


    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • What should I do to correct a "System Error Zoom", "System Error Lens", or "System Error Focus" message on my camera?
    We recommend you try removing the battery from the unit for approximately 60 seconds and reinstall the battery. If you still receive the "System Error *****" message you will want to consider having the camera serviced.

    For repairs and exchanges:

    Ship your product to:

    Panasonic Factory Service Center
    4900 George McVay Drive
    Suite B; Door-12
    McAllen, TX 78503

    Please include your name, address, telephone number, email address, copy of your purchase receipt (for warranty service), and a description of what is wrong with the unit. Freight collect shipments will not be accepted.

    Panasonic is not responsible for damage that occurs in transit. All contents should be packaged for safe travel to the service center. Customer should use a reputable small package shipping company that is able to provide a package tracking number and insurance (if customer should so desire to insure their package).

    Units that are abused, damaged, infested with insects, have corrosion, etc. will be placed out-of-warranty.

    Once your unit arrives at the facility, you may contact us for status at:

    Email: panacare@us.panasonic.com

    Note: Please reference your Service Job number when contacting. You will be contacted if there is any cost you are responsible for.


    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • My camera won't power on. What can I do?
    If you have a second battery, try it to see if you can power on the camera. If you dont have an extra battery and you're sure the battery you have is fully charged then the camera may need to be serviced.

    For repairs and exchanges:

    Ship your product to:

    Panasonic Factory Service Center
    4900 George McVay Drive
    Suite B; Door-12
    McAllen, TX 78503

    Please include your name, address, telephone number, email address, copy of your purchase receipt (for warranty service), and a description of what is wrong with the unit. Freight collect shipments will not be accepted.

    Panasonic is not responsible for damage that occurs in transit. All contents should be packaged for safe travel to the service center. Customer should use a reputable small package shipping company that is able to provide a package tracking number and insurance (if customer should so desire to insure their package).

    Units that are abused, damaged, infested with insects, have corrosion, etc. will be placed out-of-warranty.

    Once your unit arrives at the facility, you may contact us for status at:

    Email: panacare@us.panasonic.com

    Note: Please reference your Service Job number when contacting. You will be contacted if there is any cost you are responsible for.


    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
  • The LCD screen on my camera is blank. What do I do?
    We recommend you try removing the battery from the unit for approximately 60 seconds and reinstall the battery. If your LCD screen is still blank, we suggest you consider having your camera serviced.

    For repairs and exchanges:

    Ship your product to:

    Panasonic Factory Service Center
    4900 George McVay Drive
    Suite B; Door-12
    McAllen, TX 78503

    Please include your name, address, telephone number, email address, copy of your purchase receipt (for warranty service), and a description of what is wrong with the unit. Freight collect shipments will not be accepted.

    Panasonic is not responsible for damage that occurs in transit. All contents should be packaged for safe travel to the service center. Customer should use a reputable small package shipping company that is able to provide a package tracking number and insurance (if customer should so desire to insure their package).

    Units that are abused, damaged, infested with insects, have corrosion, etc. will be placed out-of-warranty.

    Once your unit arrives at the facility, you may contact us for status at:

    Email: panacare@us.panasonic.com

    Note: Please reference your Service Job number when contacting. You will be contacted if there is any cost you are responsible for.

    Require further assistance?

    Click here to visit the Panasonic Community to search for specific FAQs or tutorials for your product or ask questions directly to Panasonic or other customers.
LOAD MORE FAQs
CONTACT INFORMATION
Consumer Product Support and Technical Assistance
Operating hours:
Mon-Fri 9am-9pm EST
Sat-Sun 10am-7pm EST
Panasonic USA